Skip to content
LVL2
Less admin
FeaturesBooking, flash, Store, clients, and payments under one roof.Appointment schedulingLet clients request time, pay deposits, and get reminders.Booking formsCustom intake without the DM screenshot pile.
More money
Deposits + paymentsReduce no-shows and last-minute cancellations.FlashUpload, organize, and book flash effortlessly.
Other bits
EventsHost flash days, conventions, and guest spots.BBP certificatesBloodborne pathogens training, certs, and verification.
What's new in LVL2LVL2 illustrated shop stack with booking, walk-ins, team, merch, and paymentsOne shop stack, cleaner handoffs.Booking, flash, Store, clients, and payments under one roof.
Find
ArtistsBrowse artists by style and city.FlashPick a flash design and book it.MapShops and artists near you.
Shop
StoreMerch, prints, flash, and studio goods.ExchangeSell artist tools, templates, and education.
Go
ConventionsTattoo conventions, dates, and who's working.StudiosTattoo studios on LVL2.
Categories
All articlesBookingBusiness OpsGuidesEvents
Help
FAQContactBBP Training
Comparison table of tattoo booking apps and their core featuresGuidesBest Tattoo Artist Booking Apps in 2026What actually matters before you switch booking apps.Flash day planning table with deposit cards and a calendarEvent PlanningHow to Run a Flash Day That Actually Sells OutPlan, price, and promote a flash day that fills the books.Tattoo deposit policy setup on a booking screenBusiness OpsSet Up Your Deposit Policy in MinutesCut no-shows with a deposit policy that protects your time.Booking page versus DM inquiry routingBusiness TipsBooking Page vs DM InquiryTurn inquiry DMs into real bookings without losing the personal touch.Reference photo converting into a clean tattoo stencilAI & ToolsAI Stencil Tools for Tattoo ArtistsTurn a reference into a clean, usable stencil, fast.Before-and-after of a tattoo artist's first-year studio setupBusiness of TattooingTattoo Artist Year One: Survival GuideSet the systems up before year-one chaos hits.
Pricing
Sign InFind an artistClaim your page
ArtistsFlashMapStoreExchangeConventionsStudios
Help
Blog
BookingBusiness OpsGuidesEvents
FAQContact
Sign InFind an artistClaim your page

Get started

Start bookingBrowse artistsArtist mapTattoo conventionsLVL2 ExchangeYour bookingsLog in

Features

Tattoo booking softwareTattoo booking appBooking requestsPayment statusFlash marketplaceSMS automationWaivers

Compare

All comparisonsLVL2 vs BooksyLVL2 vs VagaroLVL2 vs SquareLVL2 vs Venue InkLVL2 vs Tattoodo

Company

AboutFAQContactsupport@lvl2.ink(606) 386-1808204 E Mount Vernon St
Somerset, KY 42501
Terms of servicePrivacy policyRefund policyCancellation policy
LVL2

Built for artists, by an artist.

Built by Russell Cain

© 2026 LVL2. All rights reserved.
LanguagesENEnglishESEspañolPTPortuguêsFRFrançais
TermsPrivacyFAQSupport
Download on theApp StoreGet it forAndroid
← All articlesGUIDES

Best Tattoo Artist Booking Apps in 2026

May 8, 2026 · Updated September 23, 2026 · 11 min read

Eight booking apps compared on price, deposits, AI texting and iOS/Android, from each vendor's own pages. Not stated means not published.

Start with a real request. This LVL2 demo uses sample client details; compare what you can review before an appointment is confirmed.

Open the full request demo ↗

Eight booking apps tattoo artists actually shortlist: LVL2, Venue, Tattoo Studio Pro, Porter, Bookedin, Square Appointments, Vagaro and LucentDesk. This guide compares four things only — price, deposits, AI texting, and iOS/Android apps — using each company's own public pages, checked September 23, 2026.

Written by LVL2, one of the apps compared. Sources checked September 23, 2026. This is a seller-written guide, not an independent ranking. Every competitor fact links to the vendor's own page. “Not stated” means we could not find it on the pages we checked — it does not mean the feature is missing. We did not test any competitor account. Prices are USD and change often; check the linked page before you decide.

The comparison at a glance

Scroll sideways to compare. Keyboard: focus the table, then use the arrow keys.

AppPrice (cheapest)DepositsAI textingiOSAndroid
LVL2Free plan; Plus and Pro paid; transaction fees applyYes, after you approve the requestYes — collects the tattoo details by textYesYes
VenueFree Solo (10% deposit fee); Solo Pro $50/moYesNot statedYesYes
Tattoo Studio Pro30-day trial; Solo $29/moYesNot statedYesYes
Porter30-day trial; Artist Essentials $35/moYesNot statedYesYes
BookedinFree plan; paid price not statedNot statedNot statedYesYes
Square AppointmentsFree plan plus processing feesYesYes — Square AssistantNot statedNot stated
VagaroFrom $23.99/mo intro rateNot statedAI assistant “Vera”; SMS details not statedYes (client app)

Try the booking app built for tattoo artists

LVL2 handles request review, intake, deposits, flash, and studio workflows — not just time slots.

See LVL2 for tattoo artists

Free to start. No credit card required.

Topics:GUIDES
Share
Next reads

Keep reading

Stay in the same problem space. These are the articles most likely to help with the next decision.

  • GUIDES12 min readThe Complete Guide to Tattoo Booking Systems in 2026Everything you need to know about modern tattoo booking software: features, pricing, comparisons, and how to choose the right system for your business.Read next
  • GUIDES12 min readTattoo Studio Management Software: Why the Industry Finally Has Real InfrastructureThe tattoo industry runs on word-of-mouth and DMs — but that's changing fast. Here's what real studio management infrastructure looks like, and why the shops moving first will own their market.Read next
  • GUIDES7 min readTattoo Booking Software 2026: LVL2 vs CompetitorsCompare tattoo booking software: Bookedin, Square, Vagaro, Acuity, Fresha vs LVL2. Feature matrix for deposits, multi-artist studios, flash, and client experience.
Yes (client app)
LucentDeskFree for now; planned $5 per bookingYesYesNot statedNot stated

Sources for every cell are in the sections below.

LVL2

LVL2 is built by a tattoo artist for tattoo artists and studios. Clients send a request with the idea, placement, size and references; you approve it before any deposit or appointment. It also runs flash drops, digital waivers, a client inbox and print-on-demand merch.

  • Price: Free plan with a $0 subscription; Plus and Pro are paid. Transaction fees still apply. See pricing.
  • Deposits: collected after you approve the request.
  • AI texting: LVL2's booking assistant replies to client texts, asks for the idea, style, exact placement, size, reference photos, name and email, then files a request in your inbox. It does not confirm appointments on its own. See AI text booking for tattoo artists.
  • Apps: web, iOS and Android.

Before you switch, check the payment and payout setup for your account and the intake fields you need. Read the tattoo client intake and consent guide for what to collect.

Venue

Venue (venue.ink) is tattoo-specific booking software.

  • Price: free Solo plan with a 10% deposit fee; Solo Pro is $50/month with a 5% deposit fee (pricing).
  • Deposits: yes, with card, Affirm and Klarna checkout (pricing).
  • AI texting: not stated.
  • Apps: iOS and Android downloads offered (pricing).

Also see LVL2 vs Venue.

Tattoo Studio Pro

Tattoo Studio Pro (tattoostudiopro.com) is studio management software for tattoo shops.

  • Price: no permanent free plan; 30-day free trial; Solo plan $29/month (pricing).
  • Deposits: clients book and pay a studio-set deposit in one step, through Stripe (online deposits).
  • AI texting: not stated. The site lists SMS reminders, not AI replies (booking features).
  • Apps: web, iOS, Android and Mac (booking features).

Porter

Porter (getporter.io) is a booking app for tattoo artists.

  • Price: 30-day free trial; Artist Essentials is $35/month; no free plan stated (pricing).
  • Deposits: included on all plans, with auto-collect (pricing).
  • AI texting: not stated.
  • Apps: App Store and Google Play.

Bookedin

Bookedin (bookedin.com) is general appointment scheduling software.

  • Price: a free plan is mentioned; the paid price was not stated on the page we checked (bookedin.com).
  • Deposits: not stated.
  • AI texting: not stated. It lists text and email confirmations and reminders (bookedin.com).
  • Apps: iOS and Android listed (bookedin.com).

Square Appointments

Square Appointments is Square's general scheduling tool.

  • Price: free plan, paying processing fees; Plus and Premium prices were not stated on the page we checked (pricing).
  • Deposits: set deposit requirements by service (deposit guide).
  • AI texting: Square Assistant replies to client texts 24/7 to confirm, cancel or reschedule appointments, and is included with Square Appointments (Square Assistant).
  • Apps: not stated on the pages we checked.

Also see LVL2 vs Square.

Vagaro

Vagaro (vagaro.com) is salon, spa and fitness software.

  • Price: from $23.99/month as an intro rate for the first six months (pricing).
  • Deposits: not stated on the pages we checked today.
  • AI texting: an AI assistant, “Vera”, handles marketing and client communication; SMS details were not stated (pricing).
  • Apps: client app on iOS and Android (vagaro.com).

Also see LVL2 vs Vagaro.

LucentDesk

LucentDesk (lucentdesk.com) is an AI texting assistant for tattoo artists.

  • Price: free for now; planned pricing is $5 per booking added to the deposit (lucentdesk.com).
  • Deposits: the AI sends deposit requests (lucentdesk.com).
  • AI texting: replies to client texts, asks questions, collects tattoo details and pre-qualifies requests by the artist's rules (lucentdesk.com).
  • Apps: not stated; only a web app is mentioned.

How to choose

Scroll sideways to compare. Keyboard: focus the table, then use the arrow keys.

If you need…Look atCheck first
A free start with tattoo intakeLVL2, Venue, LucentDeskTransaction and deposit fees at your volume
An AI that answers client textsLVL2, LucentDesk, Square AppointmentsWhether the AI books, requests, or only reschedules
Deposits before the appointmentLVL2, Venue, Tattoo Studio Pro, Porter, Square Appointments, LucentDeskWho pays the fee, and when payouts arrive
A phone app for the artistLVL2, Venue, Tattoo Studio Pro, Porter, BookedinThat the app is the business app, not a client app
A shop already on salon softwareVagaro, Square AppointmentsTattoo intake, references and waivers

The answer in one paragraph

For tattoo work, start with a tattoo-specific app: LVL2, Venue, Tattoo Studio Pro, Porter or LucentDesk. If you want an AI to handle client texts, LVL2, LucentDesk and Square (through Square Assistant) publish that; the others we checked do not state it. If you want the lowest fixed cost, LVL2, Venue and LucentDesk publish a $0 starting point, but each charges on transactions or bookings. Whatever you pick, run one real tattoo request through it — idea, references, deposit, reschedule — before you move your clients.

Read next